Return of the Perfect Cereal

Last week I couldn’t get enough eggs and had them for both breakfast and dinner multiple times.  Now this week my craving has changed from a savory breakfast to a sweeter breakfast…cereal!  It’s amazing how cravings all of a sudden change.

I wrote previously about how I make my perfect cereal.  You can’t go wrong with berries, a mix of cereal, and milk.  It’s probably my favorite breakfast combo.  Berries may also be my favorite fruit, I seem to  never get sick of them like I do with bananas or apples.  Berries for life! 🙂

Strawberries + Blueberries

This morning’s cereal consisted of three different kinds of cereal.  I love to mix my cereal and can’t remember when I actually just had one cereal in my bowl.  I love the different tastes and textures.  Plus I like to mix a higher fiber cereal with a more “fun” cereal.  Too much fiber can make my stomach hurt, so I limit the amount in my breakfast since I also eat high fiber throughout the day.

Cereal Mix

In the mix:

First, I put a layer of fruit on the bottom of the bowl.  It’s probably roughly a cup.  Then I added a layer of cereal.  On top of that layer went more fruit and some more cereal.  I topped it all off with light soy milk.  On the side I had coffee with a splash of the same milk (I prefer half and half, but we’re out!)

My Perfect Cereal

Breakfast

Cereal Prices

Cereal has always been one of my favorite breakfasts, even as a kid.  In high school my cereal of choice was Special K with strawberries.  I typically don’t buy Special K anymore and try to stick with a more high fiber and nutrient dense cereal.  Plus, Special K is getting pricey!  I buy the Peanut Butter Bumpers and Flax Plus cereals at a local grocery store called Marcs and both are less than $3.00! At Whole Foods the Bumpers are closer to $5.00…way too much.  I tend to only buy Whole Foods 365 brand cereals when I shop because they are inexpensive.  The Shredded Wheat was  only about $2.00.

Thursday Plans

Now it’s time to get to work! I work early today and will be outta here by 2:30pm.  I love my early days! After work I plan on taking the dogs out for a walk if it’s not storming…the forecast calls for scattered thunderstorms so hopefully we can squeeze some exercise in there!

As for my own workout, I am teaching two classes today so that will be my exercise for the day. I’m teaching Healthy Back and Yoga.  Healthy back is a 60-minute class that has a mix of light aerobics, strength training and stretching.  The Yoga class is 45-minutes, where I do a mix of flowing poses and more static poses, focusing on holding the pose and breathing.

Have a great day!

Question of the Day:

What is your favorite breakfast?

14 responses to “Return of the Perfect Cereal

  1. I go in phases and right now I am on a yogurt mess kick. Into the bowl goes 2% Fage, raw oatmeal, blueberries and raw cashews. I am loving it.

  2. Berries are my favorite too…one of the best parts of summer is the abundance and cheapness of berries! That cereal looks dang near to die for – I think I’ll do a cereal bowl for breakfast tomorrow now!

  3. You know what’s odd, I love berries and cereal, but I hate them together. I’d rather have a little bowl of berries next to my cereal. Yeah – I’m goofy. Cereal is one of my fav breakfasts though… well, that and biscuits and gravy! haha

  4. I definitely get on cereal kicks and egg kicks and sandwich kicks…and all sorts of kicks. LOL Love how you do cereal. I always love to have a mix with some fruit and vanilla almond milk. So satisfying!

  5. I LOVE cereal!! I do prefer the bran cereal though because it keeps me fuller longer. I used to eat Special K a lot to but I found I needed twice as much to get me full, and even then it didn’t last me very long! Loving your blog btw!

  6. Your balance in your workouts is so amazing…refreshing and inspiring.

    Do you have any experience with binge eating….? I’ve been doing it really bad for a long time – not just sporadically. I feel like I’ve messed up my body with so much crap that it’s too late to change anything…:(

    LOVE cereal! I agree the prices are insane. Love Puffins (cinnamon!); Mighty Maple Sunrise Crunch; and Nature’s Path Granola (I know but I ‘m such a sucker for the HEMP kind) – I pour it in yogurt bowls with BERRIES! (LOVE BLOOBS!) and almond butter with apple butter – yum!

    • Hi there!
      Click on my “hot topic” section and read the posts on ending food obsession. I talk about my past with disordered thinking and eating. If it’s been going on for a long time, I would definitely recommend seeing a professional to get help- life is much better now without disordered habits and I hope you can get to a place where you’re not binging. Take care!

  7. I’m a toast and peanut butter girl for sure! Actually, I got the idea to mix cereals a couple of months ago from your blog… I’d never tried it before… thought it was kinda weird… but now whenever I eat cereal it’s a mix. So THANK YOU for introducing it to my life! Love it!

  8. Love that you mix the cereal. Honestly, I had never seen anyone do that until we stayed with some friends and she mixed her cereals. I guess my fave breakfast is oatmeal with PB and either bananas or cinnamon apples.

  9. Pingback: Peanut Butter Coffee Beer |

  10. Pingback: Shopping Drama |

Leave a Reply

