"Hot" Yoga

Yesterday I taught a 45-minute Yoga class at work.  I tend to teach my Yoga classes mixing a bit of Vinyasa flow along with holding poses for a number of breaths. I typically end the class with some relaxation and meditation (You can see my sample Yoga Flow workouts here and here)

Yoga Thursday

Today’s Yoga class was a bit different though.  It was HOT.  Unfortunately the air conditioning at work was having some issues and the repair men had been working on it all day.  By noon (when I taught Yoga) the air conditioning was still out.  So I told the participants that today’s class would be Hot Yoga!

By the time we were flowing through a Sun Salutation, I was dripping sweat.  But I actually didn’t mind it and almost felt invigorated sweating so much.  The class didn’t seem to mind either and mentioned that it was a challenging class and they enjoyed it. Perhaps the AC can kick off again and we can do another session of Hot Yoga here 😉

Another Hot Workout

Hot seemed to be the theme of the day yesterday! After work  I took the dogs out for a 30-minute walk-run workout and they were pooped when we got back! It was nap time immediately for Boo and Sophia.

Phew, that was a good workout!

Ok, I'm ready for my nap now

Good thing this tired them out because I took some time to finish up the second installment of the Hunger Games, Catching Fire.  I can’t get enough of this series and will probably head out this weekend to buy the third installment, Mockingjay.

Dinner

Last night I had serious craving for a Chipotle burrito bowl, so I persuaded Andy with my one-of-a-kind charm to pick us up some dinner there (what a gem he is!).

Chipotle Bowl

Source

Into my bowl went:

  • Rice
  • Black Beans
  • Peppers and Onions
  • Cheese
  • Sour Cream
  • Tomato Salsa
  • Corn Salsa
  • Guacamole
  • Lettuce

(yes, this was roughly 10lbs of food!)

I ate about half of the bowl and had some of their chips and hot salsa on the side.  It hit the spot!

I packed the remainder of the bowl for lunch today at work.  Along with the rest of my Chipotle, I made a colorful salad to get in some much needed veggies and nutrition.

Colorful Salad

I topped the salad with Bolthouse Farms Honey Mustard Yogurt dressing that I got at Whole Foods. This was my first time trying this brand and I really like it!  It’s super creamy, yet low calorie and low fat compared to standard honey mustard dressings.  I definitely recommend this dressing if you’re a honey mustard kinda’ person.  Andy seems to think honey mustard is only good on chicken fingers (which it is), but I think it’s great on salads too!

Honey Mustard Yogurt Dressing

A No-Plan Weekend

This weekend Andy and I have no real big plans.  I guess I have no excuse not to much my laundry away (which is still sitting on my bedroom floor!).  Have a great weekend!

Question:

Have you ever taken a real Hot Yoga class? I’ve yet to take a ‘real’ one in a Yoga Studio, but I’d love to!

9 responses to “"Hot" Yoga

  1. I havent taken “real” hot yoga. BUt its in the 90s here in stl, so there really isn’t anything but hot yoga haha

  2. Puppers! They are so cute 🙂 I’ve never taken any sort of yoga class, let alone a hot one!! I have enough problems with sweating during regular yoga and staying on my mat, hot yoga would probably leave me in a pool and I would be slipping everywhere lol
    I had Chipotle for the first time the other night and let me just say wow that is A TON of food!! I havent eaten white rice in ages though, and I think it gave me a belly ache 😦

  3. Now I’m craving salad for breakfast… thanks… haha.

    I tried hot yoga a few months ago with a 30 day unlimited pass… I’d go everyday if it wasn’t so freakin’ expensive ($20 a drop-in!). I LOVED it.

  4. I love Bolthouse farms! Their Caesar is AMAZING. Tastes just like “the real thing” and soo much better for you & easier on the tummy!

  5. Yes….I have taken a few hot yoga classes. They are interesting because at first when you walk in it literally feels like you can not breathe but I do think it helps relax your muslces and lets you get deeper into the poses.

  6. I’ve taken a couple hot yoga classes and it wasn’t for me!!! I hated every minute of it- but other people I know love it. It’s humid, not just hot, because there are steam machines on- so your dripping and they go on for 90 minutes! I was so light headed at the end every time I had to sit down. They’re not for me- or other people with low blood pressure! It’s worth a try to see if you’re the kind of person who can handle it, but just do a trial class before you sign up for a month or more.

  7. Pingback: Shopping and Eating |

  8. I love hot yoga. Which is interesting, because I have never been able to tolerate hot tubs or saunas. I came across a family owned and run yoga studio called Yoga Tropics in Encinitas, CA. Over the past 3 months I have averaged 5 hot yoga classes a week. The regular sweating is so amazing. Not only do I feel great physically (I’ve lost 22 pounds), but also emotionally and mentally.
    Give hot yoga a chance, maybe a few chances, you never know.

Leave a Reply

