The Uninvited Running Guests

This morning on my run with my pups, Boo and Sophia, I had some uninvited running guests.

These guests were quite the annoyance and made for an interesting morning.  These uninvited guests were the midges of Cleveland, OH.  What’s midge, you  may wonder? It’s a super annoying bug that comes out in the spring from Lake Erie:

“Each spring and fall, Cleveland’s lakefront communities are invaded by small, harmless, mosquito-like insects called midges. They only stay about five-ten days, but the swarms can be startling to visitors and newcomers”

The small, 1/8 to 1/2″ long insects are properly called chironomus plumorsus and commonly, but erroneously, called Canadian soldiers. They spawn in the lake when Lake Erie warms to around 60 degrees and then again in the fall when the lake cools. They have a life span of around five to ten days.

Source

These suckers are all over my car, our screen doors, and there are swarms of them in the air.  Ick! Luckily they don’t bite and are harmless. But still annoying, nonetheless.

Attack of the Lake Erie Midges!

Source

Apparently they do have a benefit, as I read that they provide food for a variety of freshwater fish and other aquatic creatures. I guess each creature does have  a purpose, but they were not very welcome on my morning run!

You would think this beautiful morning with the temperature just barely at 60 degrees  would have made for a picture perfect run…

Lovely Day in Cleveland

But I was batting my arms around like a lunatic as I dodged the swarms of midges.  I even inhaled a couple, which was repulsive.

These two didn’t seem to mind the midges and enjoyed their run (AKA bunny hunting) and their usual wrestling match in the back yard:

I'm on Squirrel Patrol

You're toast, Boo!

On the positive side, it did force me to pick up my pace and I got a little sprinting action in…and the run itself was a good one, my legs felt great and I felt super energized.  Perhaps the midges are a good luck charm for having a great run? 😉 But I think I’ll take my chances without em’…hopefully they head out soon!

Almond Butter and Honey Roll Ups

Despite the uninvited guests on our morning run, I did get a little pick-me-up as I packed my lunch and made a Almond Butter and Honey roll up.  I did sneak a few bites of almond butter and it was oh-so-good!

Honey + Almond Butter

This simple recipe only needs three ingredients:

  • 1-2 tbsp Almond Butter
  • A drizzle of Honey
  • Whole Wheat Wrap

Ingredients

Simply spread the almond butter on the wrap, drizzle with honey, and roll up.

Roll Up

Along with my roll up for lunch today, I packed some fruit salad with pineapple, blueberries, and grapes.  I’m also going to nab a bag of Baked Lays that we have left over in the office from a work picnic.

Lunch

Lunch is ready!  Breakfast will also be eaten at work which includes Greek yogurt, cereal, and strawberries and blueberries.

Now I’m off to work! Have a great day!

Question:

Which do you prefer more, Almond Butter or Peanut Butter?

10 responses to “The Uninvited Running Guests

  1. Ugh, I was accosted by tiny bugs this morning too that kept flying into my face. So annoying. Your fruit bowl looks so yummy and refreshing. I think I prefer almond butter, but try to stick with PB b/c I would eat a jar of almond butter in a sitting if allowed.

  2. Ohhh those midges would FREAK ME OUT. Espcially if they just sorta came out of nowhere haha! Creeeeeepy.

  3. Ummm no. NOT ok. There is no way I would run through those things! Im not afraid of bugs or anything, but I dont like them ON me. Gah! Kudos to you for sticking it out!!

  4. Ewww! I hate when it’s hot and humid here… it brings out the little swarms just like midges. I’ve gotten home from a run before and found them in my hair, in my eyes… ugh!!

    As for the nut butters, there’s an almond-hazelnut butter that I buy and it is AMAZING!!

  5. Oh gross! We have the swarms of gnats and such on the trails that sneak up on ya. I don’t know how many of them I’ve accidentally ingested…. dont’ wanna think about it!

  6. Oh no! Midges sound awful. I’m not sure if I’m more of an almond butter or peeb fan. I haven’t had almond butter in forever. I was thinking of getting some the next time I hit up TJs though, so I hope I like it.

  7. Midges sound miserable! I have actually never tried almond butter 😦 but I want to! I’ve just never had a reason to buy it. I think I may have to get some though and try that roll-up…it looks yummy

  8. That’s my favorite almond butter! SOooo cheap from target!

  9. I bought a huge jar of Almond Butter from Costco so now I am gearing up towards Peanut butter…the mosquitos are sure out where I live too!! I was outside Sat. night for like two minutes and bam I was eaten up!

  10. Pingback: Healthy Snacks |

Leave a Reply

