Addicted

It’s official…I’m addicted to ice cream!

And I’m not complaining, especially when Andy offers to take me out after dinner to get some deliciousness and pay for it.  Who could refuse?  Certainly not this addict.

Last night Andy and I headed to Jerry’s Dari to get our fix.

I decided to get one of their homemade flavors, peanut butter chocolate chip.  It was good, as almost all ice cream is, but to be honest…It could have used more peanut butter flavor.  But that didn’t stop me from eating it all 😉  Next time I’ll try something else in hopes for more flavor or get my beloved hot fudge sundae.  You can’t go wrong with hot fudge!

Andy decided to get a cone with mint chocolate chip.  Have I mentioned I absolutely hate cones? Andy thinks I’m so strange and proceeds to tell me that the last bite of the cone is simply the best.  Sorry, but I prefer my ice cream in a cup!

I promise he’s happy…or maybe he’s just disgusted with the fact that I hate ice cream cones?

Dinner

Before our ice cream excursion, we did actually have a real meal.  Tonight’s meal came together in literally 6 minutes.  My kind of meal! With the help of my freezer, I made whole wheat ravioli with pasta sauce and veggies (which were also frozen).

The Starting Line Up

I picked up the ravioli at Whole Foods.  While they were good and a great meal to have on hand, it was lacking some flavor (what is it with food lacking flavor today?).

Ravioli

I’ve tried other flavors, and they’re much better.  These get a C+ rating from me. However, adding some grated cheese definitely helped spruce this meal up.  Cheese is amazing like that.

Even with the lack-o-flavor it did not stop me from cleaning my plate.  I was a hungry gal’!

Workout

Yesterday’s workout might have had something to do with my big appetite at dinner time.  I did some intervals and steady state running on the treadmill during my lunch break (which is 30-minutes).

My workout looked like this:

  • 0:00-5:00: 5.5 MPH
  • 6:00-7:00: 8.0 MPH
  • 7:00-9:00: 6.0 MPH
  • 10:00-11:00: 8.0MPH
  • 11:00-13:00: 6.0 MPH
  • 13:00-14:00: 8.0 MPH
  • 14:00-16:00: 6.0 MPH
  • 16:00-17:00: 8.0 MPH
  • 17:00-25:00: 6.0 MPH

Lately I have been running outside and I found myself getting just a teeny bit restless on the treadmill. So after 25 minutes I called it quits and  hopped on the stationary bike for 5 minutes, keeping my pace above 100 RPM and the resistance between 7-8.

The change of equipment kept my momentum and motivation up and afterwards I was a sweaty mess!

Exercise Time of Day

I actually liked getting a mid-day workout.  Usually I am a morning exerciser all the way.  But since I am working the opening shift at work on Tuesdays and Thursdays that means a wake up call of 5AM to get to work at 6AM.  A morning workout is not happening before 5AM, I refuse!

Mid-day seems to work better for me than after work as well.  After work all I want to do is relax and my motivation to move is at its low point.

Alright, it’s time for me to do that pesky work thing.  Just kidding, I love my job but if I had the choice, I’d be sitting on my couch watching The Real Housewives and eating pizza.  I guess that will just have to wait until Pizza Friday!

Questions:

Do you prefer your ice cream in a cone or a cup?

What time of day do you prefer to exercise?

P.S.  For some reason my comments are going to some of your spam and I don’t know why!  Has anyone ever had this issue? I’ve contacted WordPress, but have not heard anything.

16 responses to “Addicted

  1. Oh my goodness I hate icecream cones! I can’t imagine getting less icecream in favor of a cone! I need my cup of icecream so I can lick every last drop out of the cup!! he he he! I wish I was a morning exerciser and I’m hoping to add a morning one to my routine here and there but my lunch time workout or later evening seems to work best for me.

  2. I always go for a cup too! I want all of the flavor of the good stuff – no crunchy crap to hold it together…and less mess!

  3. Oh gosh I LOVE ice cream!! Im not much of a cone person either, but think thats because in my head I fool myself into thinking I’ll get more ice cream without the cone 😉

  4. I’ve always hated cones too! Especially waffle cones…

  5. I am a morning workout person but lately I have been pulling 2-days and it isn’t so bad! The Texas heat is just so brutal. We had a cold front…today’s high is only 94 degrees. ha!

  6. I don’t really like cones either, but I’ll have one if it’s there. haha. I like working out as early as possible— working out after a day of work would never happen!

  7. I like ice cream in a cup with a “sample” spoon.
    I like working out in the mornings or late afternoon. Any time in between, my body isn’t so sure about.

  8. Your husband is right the last of the cone is the BEST! I love ice cream cones.
    I try to get in morning workouts but i always seem to just not have the energy to get through the workout and i always seem to feel nauseous during it in the morning. I have been trying to make that my routine but as for now my body feels best in getting that workout in in the evening.

  9. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i love ice cream too, i’m not going to hide it anymore haha.it’s soooooo good! Have you ever heard of graeters? It’s in Ohio & it’s AMAZING. I prefer a cup to a cone too! I feel like you get more ice cream haha

    don’t blame you for not waking up to workout that early- that would be miserable!!

    your comments did come up as spam for me! Luckily I check my spam 🙂

  10. I’ve had that issue! If enough people un-spam you the system will ‘learn’ but if not or if you don’t want to wait (hehe) just use a different e-mail address =)

    And I LOOOVE ice cream! Much prefer a cup to a cone… I hate the last bite in a cone and I always like my last bite to be my best bite 😉

  11. Ugh, I hate ice cream cones. I have no idea why, but I refuse to eat them. However, I still prefer cones to cups because I like the ritual of eating an ice cream cone more than spooning it out of a cup. Usually I eat all of the ice cream on top of the cone and then I either throw away the cone or gift it to the person I’m with. Trust me, I’m aware that I’m weird. 😉

  12. CUP CUP CUP CUP CUP! I hate cones, can’t remember last time I had one actually!

    I workout whenever I feel like it. I do need to eat something before I work out though so I am not someone who can go FIRST thing in the morning!

  13. The spam thing keeps happening to me too! Grr…Anyway, I love ice cream in a cup because I always make a huge mess when it’s in a cone haha. I like to workout in the morning, but sometimes an afternoon one feels the best!

  14. Pingback: Healthy Snacks |

  15. Pingback: A Taco Pile + Circuit Workout |

Leave a Reply

