Shopping Drama

The weekend is finally here.  I sometimes feel as though I live for my weekends.  The days where I can truly do exactly what I want to do.  Although I do enjoy working, there are certainly days where I am longing for the weekend!  Last week felt like one of those weeks.  I couldn’t wait to just wake up when I wanted and do whatever it is I felt like doing.

Today, I decided to browse at TJ Maxx and get my grocery shopping done at Whole Foods.  Before shopping, I fueled up with some cereal

In the mix:

  • 365 Brand Shredded Wheat
  • 365 Brand Peanut Butter Pows
  • Unsweetened Soy Milk
  • Blueberries

To drink, I had coffee with half and half:

This was a winning combination.  I love breakfast! 🙂

At TJ Maxx I was on the hunt for a dress to wear to a wedding and some workout tank tops. 

Hello from the dressing room!

I tried on this workout tank, that I ended up buying it in pink and black since they were only $7.99 and fit great.

Since I mainly live in workout attire, these two tanks were a good investment! I’d say 95% of my week is spent in some form of spandex!

Next I tried on this cute Calvin Klein one shoulder dress for $39.99:

I decided not to get it today, but now looking at it again I kind of like it more…what do you think of it?

Shopping Drama:

While I was browsing through a section of dresses, I noticed a girl standing very close to me who seemed annoyed.  She was about my age, or perhaps a few years younger, but I’d guess in her 20s. I continued to browse, even holding up dresses to my body to check the length.  Finally the girl says, “Can you, like, move?”

I was a bit surprised at the rude tone in her voice, and politely said back, “I’m sorry, but I am looking at these right now”. 

She stomps away and begins talking to her mother right behind me practically shouting so everyone around her can hear, “That girl is so rude! I wanted to look right there and she wouldn’t move! I hate people like her!”

After hearing that, I was livid.  I was honestly fuming and could feel my blood boil.  I couldn’t believe that because I was minding my own business looking at a small section of dresses (there was the entire row left and of the same size with no one else looking…plenty of room!) and now I was rude and should be hated. 

Now, anyone who knows me in person knows that I am a non-confrontational person. I pretty much let things slide.  But this time I couldn’t.  I turned around, looked at the girl and pretty much told her she was a spoiled brat and that just because I wouldn’t move when she needed me to that she was the one who was rude.  I’m pretty sure we learn to ‘wait our turn’ in pre-school.

Her mom actually agreed with me and told her daughter that she didn’t own the store and couldn’t order people around. 

Ugh..it was just annoying and I couldn’t believe someone would act like that in public and feel so entitled. 

I got over it and continued shopping, but it was definitely an experience I probably won’t forget! So much for a calm and relaxing shopping trip!

By the time I left TJ Maxx, I was starving. Along with my usual groceries and staples for the week I picked up some of Whole Food’s chicken salad and guacamole to have for lunch.

I put together a platter of food along with some Sour Cream Pop Chips. The chicken salad was just OK, but their guacamole is pretty amazing.  It’s so fresh and there are lots of large chunks of avocado. I’ll definitely buy it again.

After lunch I was ready for a nap!  I slept for a good hour, which felt nice.  Now I’m getting ready to meet Andy’s parents and sister-in-law (and baby Claire!) for dinner at Red Robin.  Have a great night!

Question:

How would you have handled the shopping drama?

18 responses to “Shopping Drama

  1. That’s awesome that you told her off a bit. She deserved it! I always *wish* I had just said something to people that do rude things to me, but I usually just freak out and get mad about it. Good for you girl! And I really like the one shoulder dress- I’d go back for it!

  2. Love the one shoulder dress, definitely worth that price!

  3. OMG you handled that situation well! If it was me I would have definitely given her some of her own medicine, kudos to you. The dress looks great!

  4. LOL that’s awesome!! I mean, not her being an asshole, but your reply. Nicely done 😉 And I love that dress on you actually. It looks fantastic.

  5. Wow, what a crazy girl! Who does she think she is? That’s crazy!

    And I agree with the others, I think the dress looks great on you!

  6. Good for you!! I always want to get up the guts and do something like that when someone disrespects me…someday!

    and the dress looks great. love the one shoulder!

  7. I love the way you handled that drama. One nice little comment to set her in her place without tearing her apart and sinking to her level. Great job 😉

  8. I agree with everyone above me – GOOD FOR YOU! Sometimes people need to hear when they’re out of line and I LOVE that her Mom agreed with you! The CK dress is pretty cute… I love one shoulders right now.

  9. I am actually really proud of you for standing up for yourself in the store. 🙂

  10. i love that dress on you! And that lunch looks so good! xx

  11. WOW!
    First. that dress looks awesome on you! One shoulder dresses sometimes look funny, but this one looks good!
    And that girl was ridiculous! There are defiantly people out there like that. What happened to “Do you mind if I squeeze past you a minute” “or can I please grab something off the rack there”

    Please and thank you. Most important words in the dictionary!

  12. It was so refreshing to hear about you standing up for yourself! Too often, I find myself remaining quiet when I should have been vocal and end up regretting it later on. What you said to her was clearly deserved and it was even better to hear her mother agreeing with you! Thank you for demonstrating that there is nothing wrong with being assertive!

  13. Omg that’s incredibly rude of her! I probably wouldn’t have said anything, but I would have wanted to tell her to piss off haha.

  14. You look great in that dress! & That is rude…I try my best to just ignore peopke like her!

  15. Dude, what a jerk! I would have rolled my eyes and bit my tongue so I didn’t make a scene… would have been tempting though!

  16. and the world is a better place because you weren’t afraid to tell that rude girl the truth! Kudos! It’s so difficult to stand up for yourself in public. I have a hard time with confrontation and I’m totally inspired by your post today! ps. the dress looks cute and totally appropo for a wedding!

  17. Way to stand up for yourself! Homegirl needs to grow up if she’s going to be out in public with that attitude.

  18. Pingback: Giant Breadsticks |

Leave a Reply

