Blog Inspired Workouts

Remember how I had a major blah workout the other day? It turns out that all I needed was a little change and inspiration to get my workout mojo back again!

Blog Inspired Workout

One of the things I love most about reading health and fitness blogs is that you can get so many great ideas on an array of things including exercise, fashion and recipes. I especially love looking to other bloggers for workout inspiration.

During my lunch break on Thursday I decided to try a workout that Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers posted on her blog.  She said it was one heck of a workout and one of the hardest she’s posted on her blog.  I knew I wanted to try and tackle this workout! Plus, it was 30-minutes long which is all the time I have during my lunch break. Perfect!

I followed the workout exactly how Julie posted and it looked like this:


This was a great workout and I loved every sweaty minute of it! I especially enjoyed the variety of running and incline walking. The workout really flew by!  I would definitely recommend this workout to anyone wanting an intense 30-minute cardio workout that kicks your booty.  This certainly was not a blah workout!

Dinner

Due to my intense cardio session on my lunch break and the Total Body Toning class I taught at work, my appetite was in full force yesterday.  I was craving a hearty dinner and I knew that pasta would satisfy my grumbling tummy.

I searched my pantry and freezer and came up with the following ingredients to make a delicious pasta bake:

  • Whole Wheat Pasta
  • Frozen Chopped Broccoli
  • Canned Diced Tomatoes
  • Pasta Sauce
  • Chicken Sausage
  • Shredded Cheese

Once the pasta was finished cooking, I began layering the ingredients in a baking dish:

I spruced up the ingredients by adding salt, pepper and Italian Seasoning.

I topped the pasta with shredded cheese because I believe cheese makes just about every dish so much better 🙂


Since the sausage was precooked and I microwaved the broccoli, the dish didn’t have to bake that long.  I cooked it at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes until the cheese was melted.

I then let it sit in the oven on a lower temperature to keep warm since I was waiting for Andy to come home.

The Stare Down

I wasn’t the only one waiting for Andy though. Boo and Sophia anxiously looked out the window for him to come home:

I just know he'll be here

Dad?

While creeping out the window Sophia had a serious staring match with a bunny:

If this glass wasn't here, you'd be toast rabbit!

You don't look so tough

Luckily Andy came home and broke up the staring match. They were so excited!

Dad's home!

They were so excited they broke out into a serious wrestling match:

I promise they are only playing…don’t let Boo’s crazy snarl face full you.  They were giving each other kisses just moments later.  Ahh, sibling love 😉

The rest of the evening was spent eating pasta  (which was good, but next time I think I want to add some ricotta cheese for more creaminess!) and relaxing on the couch catching up on some shows.

Weekend Plans

This weekend is packed with babies! I have a baby shower for Andy’s cousin on Saturday and on Sunday Andy and I are watching his baby niece, Claire, for the day. Wish us luck because neither one of us has ever babysat, let alone changed a diaper!!

Have a great weekend!

Questions:

1. Do you have any workouts you enjoy that you’ve posted on your blog? If so, please share the link so we can all get some workout inspiration!

2. Any tips on baby sitting a 5 month old? 🙂

9 responses to “Blog Inspired Workouts

  1. Don’t worry about babysitting! Luckily, 5 mo olds are pretty easy–they like their bottles, funny faces, silly noises, trying to reach their toes, putting things in their mouths, and pulling your hair 🙂 If you’ve never changed a diaper before, I recommend tag-teaming it–one person distracts the kid while the other one wipes, haha! Good luck, I’m sure y’all will be fine.

  2. That pasta looks AWESOME!

    And I’m with Jenny — 5 month olds are easy! Well relatively. And diapers really aren’t that bad…you just don’t want to uh make a mess 😉 lol!

  3. Not going to lie, workouts are one of the HUGE reason I blog. I love seeing what everyone else is doing. Its not only inspirational, but like you its perfect for when I am in a funk!!

  4. I babysat my cousin when she was about 3 months old… but I cheated and had my Mum come with me, ha. They’re easier to entertain at that age then I would have expected, but it still was no walk in the park!

    I love getting workout inspiration from other bloggers – Julie always makes me want to hop on a treadmill, which kind of sucks since I don’t have a gym membership right now! I keep thinking I should just buy one of my own…

  5. 1. Not yet…….just started new blog

    2. Rest up the day before….lol

  6. 5 month olds are pretty easy – they really just want to eat, sleep, have someone to smile at and be changed. I LOVE babysitting actual babies. Good luck (and take pictures to share!) 🙂

    Oh and I recommend Carrots n Cake or the Fitnessista for workout options – they’re both pretty good about posting them 🙂

  7. Good luck with the five-month old. Kids scare me. I have no tips to offer! haha

    I have a few workouts on my page, but I was considering doing that one from Julie too. Thanks for the review! I’ll have to wait until I heal up a bit, but it looked like a good one.

  8. Pingback: I Love Interval Workouts |

  9. Pingback: Blizzards for a Cause |

Leave a Reply

