Sunny San Diego!

My trip to San Diego for my friend Sam’s wedding was incredible.  I loved this city! It was beautiful, vibrant, and full of life.  There were always so many people walking around, eating at restaurants, and hanging out at bars that I often wondered if anyone even worked.  I was also secretly wishing I had a schedule like that!

Bachelorette Party

Andy and I traveled all day last Wednesday (with a 3-hour layover!) and arrived in San Diego at 7pm. I was tired so I hit up Starbucks and my energy instantly changed…thank God! We stopped by to check in at our hotel, the Sofia, and I quickly changed and got ready for the night.  I had some serious partying to do!

My first stop was Sam’s Bachelorette Party at the Whiskey Girl.  Andy has a friend who lives in the area so luckily he had other plans (and it would be a total bust to bring a boyfriend to a bachelorette party!)

I couldn’t wait to catch up with my college friends.  I had not seen some of them in over a year, which is just way too long!!

The Bride-to-Be

It was a Wednesday night and because it was San Diego and no one apparently has to get up for their job, it was a packed house!

We had a great time dancing, catching up, and boozing (a lot!) until the bar closed.

My drink of choice for the night was a vodka with soda water and a splash of cranberry juice and fresh limes.  They made em’ strong! But for nearly $9.00 a drink, it better be 😉

After a night of drinking and a full day of traveling, I was starving.  I didn’t have a real dinner (and I was drunk) so I hit up a Pizza Hut with some of the others for a light night meal.  It hit the spot!

Sight Seeing

Even though I awoke each day in San Diego feeling hungover and tired, I still got my butt outta bed to see some of the city.  I brought my workout clothes and shoes to go for a run but that never happened.  I was OK with that as I was more concerned with being with my friends and having a good time.

Coronado Island

We spent some time walking around Coronado Island, which was stunning.

There were lots of cute shops and restaurants surrounding the beautiful hotel:

We spent some time walking down the beach.  The weather was about 70 degrees, so the water was too cold to be in.  But for walking, the temperature was just right.

We took some time to explore downtown San Diego as well and enjoyed a few of the restaurants and bars.  I really love the atmosphere San Diego has! It’s so relaxing and fun.

Rehearsal Dinner

Sam and Ryan had their rehearsal dinner on Thursday evening and it took place on the beach.  It was simply beautiful.

A cookout style dinner was served, which I thought was delicious.  We dined on BBQ ribs and chicken, potato salad, rolls, and baked beans.

It was a lovely evening filled with friends and family of the bride and groom

Bridal Party

College Friends

Andy and I

After the rehearsal dinner we hit up the bar scene yet again in downtown San Diego.  It was a fun night!

The Wedding

Sam and Ryan’s wedding took place on a Friday night outside on an upper level of a hotel.

Ryan and his parents

Sam with her Dad and Step Dad

She made a gorgeous bride!

The ceremony was lovely and I’m thrilled I was a part of Sam and Ryan’s special day!

Congrats Sam and Ryan!

 Time to Celebrate!

The reception was just as beautiful and elegant as the wedding.  It took place inside the hotel, which was nice.

We enjoyed bacon wrapped scallops, crab cakes, and bruschetta as appetizers, along with champagne and the open bar.

Dinner was a choice between steak, chicken and mushroom ravioli.  I chose the ravioli since I’m not a big meat eater and I especially enjoy ravioli.  Before our meal, we dined on crab soup and salad.  The meal was delicious!

Not long after dinner it was time to cut a rug on the dance floor.  That was no problem for us!

I even busted out my secret talent later on in the evening:

Pure class, I know.

Bustin' a move


The night was amazing and we all had a blast celebrating with the happy couple!

Back to Reality

Andy and I were sad to leave sunny San Diego the next day and were not looking forward to our 4-hour layover in Dallas Texas (which is smoldering hot right now!)  We didn’t get home until 1am and we both crashed immediately.

I did absolutely nothing on Sunday and now I’ve been trying to transition back into my normal, every day life (but secretly wishing I could live the San Diego lifestyle and hang out at the beach in the middle of the day!) I would love to go back to the west coast and explore the sights more.

Time to get to work!  Have a great Tuesday!

Question:

Do you have a favorite vacation spot?

22 responses to “Sunny San Diego!

  1. Oh my gosh your weekend looks phenomenal! The weddings and things you go to always look like the best time. And you look gorgeous as always. 🙂

  2. That looks like a busy but increadibly fun weekend. The reception was gorgeous, and so were you lovely ladies! haha. I bet you all got a lot of free drinks at the bachelorette party. 😉

  3. Sounds like you had an incredible time. I’ve never been to San Diego but would love to visit one day.

  4. Kelsey @utmosthealth

    Looks like you had a BLAST!! 🙂 My favorite vacation spot is Cape Town South Africa! I just got back and I didnt want to leave! Check out my blog for pics I think it has to be one of the top cities in the world!

  5. I went to San Diego last December and absolutely LOVED it! Isn’t the Hotel Del incredible?! I’m SO SO jealous of you but happy that it looks like such a fun time!

  6. I really love San Diego, too. Looks like you had a great time!

  7. Your weekend looks like it was SO much fun!!! I am jealous! What a beautiful location, too!

  8. It looks like you guys had a blast! I loved the bride’s dress, it was so beautiful!!!

  9. Goodness…so much to say! First I love how long your hair is!! And I LOVED the dress you wore to the rehearsal dinner!! I must know where that is from! And sorry you had a layover in Dallas. I am in Austin and I know how freaking hot it is! RIDICULOUS! We are on our 53rd straight day of over 100 degree heat. We hit 100 around 11:00am every morning and we finally get down to 99 around 8:00pm. I might kill myself.

  10. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    i love all of these pictures- you and your friends are beautiful! your hair color looks so pretty too 🙂 and wow im super impressed by your splits..ahahah that looks painful. pizza hut is prob one of my favorite pizza places to go late night on the weekends..

  11. That looks like so much fun! What a great idea to have the rehearsal on the beach!

    If you think those drink prices are expensive, you should come to Australia. I went to the States for the first time this past Christmas and I was blown away by how cheap everything was! For a standard vodka and soda it’s $10 here and cocktails are $18-25 (keeping in mind that our dollar is worth more as well!!). When you get a drink, they measure out the shot with a proper measurement unlike in the US where they seem to pour freely. And in the grocery store, you might pay $20 for a bottle of vodka, whereas we pay $45-50. What a joke! I’m lucky I don’t drink very often 🙂

  12. ah that weekend looks so spectacular!!! love all of the pics and esp the one of you in a split lol

    your dress is so pretty and you look so pretty!!

  13. You have got to be the most fun person to be around- whenever you post photos of any even or celebration you go to, you just radiate! and it’s not just because you busted your secret talent haha- which btw is a pretty fabulous talent!

    she’s such a gorgeous bride, and it’s always great seeing everyone get loose and dance after a wedding ceremony 🙂

    xoxo ❤

  14. Bahahahahaha. I always joke about how the splits are my “stupid party trick”… gotta love all that gymnastics training! If I ever bump into you at a real life party I am challenging you to a splits showdown 🙂

    I have been to LA and San Fran but San Diego is definitely a city I’d like to see someday soon!

  15. Pingback: I Love Interval Workouts |

  16. Pingback: Blizzards for a Cause |

  17. Pingback: It’s Not a Wedding Without a Line Dance |

  18. Pingback: Rolling Hill Treadmill Workout |

  19. Pingback: Anniversary Dinner and The Hill |

  20. Pingback: What Would Your Real Life Friends Say? |

Leave a Reply

