5 Years: And it Started with a Bike Ride

Today marks 5 years for Andy and I! We’ve been through a lot and I’m blessed to have such a wonderful person in my life.

The Beginning

Andy and I met the summer before our senior year in college.  We were neighbors and my house of roommates and his house of roommates soon became friends.

We started neighbor traditions like going to a bar a certain night (like Monday for 80’s night at a bar called Uptown) and we even had our own holidays like Neighbsgiving.  We all just had a great time together and I was lucky enough to become more than friends with Andy.

Love at First Sight

I actually think I experienced “Love at First Sight” with Andy.  I was riding my bike home from my class one summer day and spotted this guy walking a puppy (seriously, he was walking a puppy…can’t get cuter than that!) All of a sudden it felt as if I was being smacked upside the head and if I could put the feeling into words, it was as if someone said to me “Pay Attention!”

I looked up and made eye contact with Andy, mumbled a ‘hello’ and went on my way.  But I had this gut feeling that I would see him again and that he was special.  I would go as far to say that I felt that I would marry him one day.  I felt that strongly about it!  It was really the strangest feeling.

Just a couple of days later when I came home from class, I walked into the door of the house my roommates and I shared and guess who was standing in my kitchen? Andy! I was floored! Here was this random guy I mumbled hello to on the street and creepily felt a connection with.  I couldn’t let this opportunity pass me by! Turns out he was friends with one of my roommates.

It was then that I also found out we were neighbors and soon enough we all became friends and Andy and I started our relationship.  And here we are 5 years later. I guess I was in the right place at the right time.  To think this all started with a simple bike ride! 🙂

Our relationship is not perfect and never has been, but it’s been one that I treasure deeply.  It’s one of the most wonderful feelings to have someone you can trust and love completely and know they have your back no matter what can happen in life. I really love Andy unconditionally and I know he feels the same way towards me.  I can’t ask for a better person to be sharing my life with!  Happy 5 Years!!

(This picture is from my friend Lindsay’s blog)

When are you getting married?! 

When are you getting married is a question I’ve been asked quite a few times, especially since we have been dating 5 years now. My family and his family are definitely dropping hints!  We do not have any plans to get married right now and the simple answer for when I want to get married is when he asks! I honestly want to be completely surprised and I don’t want to know when it will happen. I’m perfectly content not married right now and things will happen when they’re supposed to.  I do want kids in the future and so does Andy so we’ll cross that bridge in the next few years 😉

For now these goobers are enough to handle:

Celebrating

To celebrate our 5 years Andy and I are going to one of our favorite spots, Noosa Bistro (OK, I’m lying, it’s totally my favorite but that’s the kind of guy Andy is…but he is a big fan of their tomato basil soup!)

We’ll be having a late dinner since I work until 7:30pm.  And I’m definitely getting a martini!

Have a great night everyone!

Question of the Day:

Do you believe in love at first sight?

9 responses to “5 Years: And it Started with a Bike Ride

  1. Aww, happy 5 years! You guys are adorable together!! I don’t know if I believe in love first sight or not….but I would like to think that it does exist!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS Lindsay!!! Awww. Happy five year anniversary to you two! You are such a wonderful couple — cute AND I love that neither of you feels/gives pressure to get married. You have each other, you love each other and THAT is what matters! ❤

  3. Congatulations! I don’t really believe in love at first sight, but after my first date with my husband I just had a gut feeling that he was the one ❤

  4. aww congrats on 5 years! 🙂 i do believe in love at first sight!

  5. Congratulations on five fabulous years! What milestone!!

    I love your attitude about marriage and the poking and prodding you get from other people… I was with my last boyfriend for over 4 years and it was never-ending. Yeeesh.

    I can’t say I’ve ever felt love at first sight but I like to believe I will someday!

  6. When you know, I think you know. So why not for love at first sight! Happy 5 years!

  7. Happy 5 years!!! I had a crush on Keith when I was 15 years old. I am not sure I would call it love simply because I am not sure I knew what love was at the age of 15. But I did have a MONSTER crush. 10 years later we said I do! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Anniversary Dinner and The Hill |

  9. Happy 5 years 😀
    Love that picture of the two of you from your friend’s blog- super cute!!
    Congrats!

Leave a Reply

