Eating just to Eat

Last night of course was Taco Tuesday…and surprisingly we are still not sick of it! I think we’ve been on our Taco Tuesday kick every week without fail for well over a month, if not more.  Bring on the Mexican food! 🙂

For our tacos we had:

  • Re-fried Vegetarian Beans
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Sour Cream
  • Tomatoes
  • Onion
  • Salsa
  • Hot Sauce
  • Chips

I made a taco pile and enjoyed a glass of Skinny Girl Margarita.  I just can’t seem to eat tacos without it!

It was a delicious dinner but I was completely stuffed.  Two taco piles will do that to ya I guess!

Family Walk

After dinner Andy and I decided to take the dogs for a walk.  We have not done that in so long so it was nice to get out and spend some quality time with our lil’ family.

Plus, these two crazy monsters needed to do something with their never-ending energy:

Who, Me?

This is just our warm up

We walked around the neighborhood for about a half hour and enjoyed the nice, warm evening.

When we got back everyone was looking a bit tired

I'm not ready for bed, I just need to rest my eyes

Andy and Sophia even shared a special moment relaxing on the couch:

She is quite the Diva in the household

Eating just to Eat

Once I sat back down on the couch and caught up on the latest episode of Millionaire Matchmaker (holy first date in the hot tub!), I felt hungry. Well, to be honest I wasn’t all that hungry but I really wanted something sweet to munch on.  A small bowl of cereal did the trick!  Sometimes I eat just to eat.  There, I said it 😉

I don’t care that I do this sometimes and in fact, I enjoy it.  I enjoy food so much and sometimes I do just eat simply because I want to.

I also sometimes eat because I am bored, tired, happy or upset.  I admit that I do use food for comfort from time to time.  But I am OK with it. I don’t do it often, but I do think it’s completely normal to want something to comfort you, and for me it’s sometimes just a warm, filling meal.

My focus on food and exercise has changed dramatically over the last few years.  I’ve gone from meticulously counting grams of protein, carbs, and fat (especially during Figure Competition prep) to counting scoops of ice cream at Dairy Queen (and making sure I get plenty!)

I’m not saying I don’t care about what I eat (because I do!), but I certainly don’t go crazy.  I’ve found a balance that works for me.  To some, my diet may be unhealthy.  I mean I ate tortilla chips, cheese, and sour cream at dinner (which is just fine by me).  But by others’ healthy living standards it may be junk.  It’s all just food to me and I like it all.  The good, the bad, and the extra greasy.

Question:

Do you ever eat just to eat?

13 responses to “Eating just to Eat

  1. I definitely eat just to eat! I love food and do not discriminate! 🙂 Sure, I make healthy choices, and sure, I can overdo it at times and end up with a couple extra pounds… but I still love my food and never regret a single bite!

  2. I think I’m reversing Taco (salad bowl) Tuesday and Wrap it Up Wednesday. Did wraps yesterday and am really leaning towards the taco bowl for dinner tonight. Just sounds right 😉

  3. I used to obsess over EVERYTHING…and now I’m on a mission to listen to my body and eat what it wants. Sometimes that means pancakes. But sometimes I eat ‘cuz I wanna eat. So yeah!

  4. I’m starting figure prep soon, so I know what you mean. At the moment, I’m eating because I have to. I’m rarely hungry but basically stuffing myself with chicken and green beans lol

    That being said, I do enjoy my treats occasionally. If I’m craving something, I’ll have it without feeling guilty, because my cravings aren’t too frequent and I’m trying to enjoy some leniancy while I can 🙂

  5. I hate it when I catch myself eating just to eat – that’s no good for me at all! I much prefer to eat when I really want the food so I enjoy it as much as possible!

  6. Love this! Yes, I definitely do eat just to eat on occasion. Sometimes, food is the only thing that will satisfy whatever it is that I’m feeling or going through!

  7. Last night I ate a bowl of cereal just to eat it too! I think being conscious of that makes it a whole different experience.

  8. Of course! I always have a snack before bed, no matter how much dinner I’ve had. It’s just the act of the snack I like, I think. It’s so routine!!

  9. I definitely eat just to eat too. I have learned not to put too much pressure on myself with it all.

  10. I eat just to eat. Unfortuantly this has lead to MANY extra LBS. How do you eat just to eat and still keep the weight off?

    • I don’t do it every day, but when it happens I move on. I take it for what it is and accept it.

      I also don’t have unrealistic expectations about my weight…I’m at a very normal and healthy weight for my body and not looking to be a stick figure…so being realistic about where my body is comfortable (not what a magazine tells me) is key!

  11. we had taco thursday tonight! chipotle bean burritos with chips and salsa, yumm! does it pass the “healthy living” standards, maybe? do i care? NOPE! i totally eat just to eat, prob have some dessert just because. took me a while to get here but i did and it’s awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

