Let’s Talk Supplements

So this morning has been interesting. We had pretty bad storms last night with non-stop thunder which lead to quite the restless sleep.  Unfortunately I had to wake up at 5AM to get to work…with no power in my house.  Gotta love getting ready in the dark!

As you’d probably expect, I look completely glamorous today.

Staff Worker or Criminal?

Luckily I work in a gym setting so people don’t expect much from me (at least that’s what I tell myself).   This coffee is my best friend right now 🙂

On the positive side, I just read the weather forecast and we’re supposed to have a great stretch of sunny days coming up.

I need to soak em’ up while I can.  It is Cleveland, OH and soon enough it will be a winter wonderland!

Let’s Talk Supplements

Along with my coffee and breakfast (which was a mix of Shredded Wheat and Peanut Butter Puffins cereal with strawberries and soy milk), I also had my daily multivitamin.

Typically I take these specific brands that I talked about in a previous post.  I usually get them at the local Vitamin Shoppe or order online from them.

But when I ran out of multivitamins a couple of months ago, I figured I would try out a new brand.  I went with Trader Joe’s brand and I actually really like it.  It doesn’t have a full day of iron, which I also like.  Too much iron in a supplement does not agree with my stomach (which is common) and can ‘back me up’ so to speak. Not fun! 

Along with trying my best to eat a healthy diet full of variety and nutrients and exercising, I always try and remember to take my supplements.  I don’t know if they really do anything to be honest.  But I feel like it’s my “insurance” in a way.

Product Review

Recently I was asked to review some products by Sun Chlorella. I was familiar with the product since I did work in a supplement store for a few months while I was in between jobs, but I had never taken anything by this brand.

I was sent a package of Sun Eleuthero Tea along with some Sun Elethero Tablets.

From their Website:

Sun Eleuthero is an herb that can give your body a natural energy boost, decrease stress, and support your body’s fight against the ill-effects of modern living — without dangerous side effects. Eleuthero is an “adaptogen,” which is defined as “a non-toxic substance which reinforces the body’s ability to react to stress.” Eleuthero is considered one of nature’s most powerful, adaptogenic herbs.

When I worked in the supplement store last summer I learned a lot about vitamins and herbs and really found it all fascinating.  I had no idea so many herbs existed, eleuthero being one of them.

My Thoughts

I took the supplements daily (although I did forget a few times!) for the 20 days of tablets provided.  I also tried some of the tea.

I didn’t feel a difference in my energy, but that may be due to the fact that I already take a multivitamin, exercise regularly, eat well, and sleep enough.  I certainly didn’t feel anything extra, but I also don’t feel like I am lacking in energy to begin with (besides today of course!)

I liked the tea better than the tablets simply based on personal preference.  I love herbal teas.  Plus, the manufacturer recommends that you take 15 tablets a day.  Way too many for me. I’m a ‘one-a-day’ kinda gal.

I think the product is fine and the company seems reputable.  And although I would not personally buy this product in the future (mainly because supplements are expensive), I do think it can be useful for someone else who wants to use herbal products to supplement their diet.

Question:

What supplements do you use? Why?

16 responses to “Let’s Talk Supplements

  1. I only take a multivitamin – I used to take a calcium tablet as well, but I realized it was oyster-coated and I haven’t yet bought a vegetarian replacement…but I know I need to next time I’m in the store!

  2. I do not use any supplements. I believe that if you eat correctly and exercise there is no need to spend money on tablets that, to me, do not replace the combination of nutrients that you find in fresh food.

  3. I take a multi-vitamin every morning and that’s it.

  4. I take a multi-vitamin, as well as B and D.

  5. BCAAFit 2000 ,WheyFit Isolate Dutch Chocolate, Glucosamine Chondroitin , Fitness Multi 1 , Diet Support with Green Tea , Magnesium, St.Johns Wart, and Catnip. I use more in the winter.

  6. 15 tablets a day!? I could never do that… I struggle to remember the 4 I do take: Multivitamin, Iron, Vitamin D and Vitamin B Complex

  7. I take a multi and a calcium from Trader Joe’s. Not everyday… but when I remember. Also in the same boat with you- not sure if they work, but could they really hurt?

  8. I really need to look into some supplements. I currently dont take any, but I know I really should!

  9. I take One a Day Active. But I sure do love the gummy vitamins too!

  10. I love Trader Joe’s. Wish there was one closer to me. Trying to get the bf hooked on it!

    I take a calcium/magnesium/zinc supplement, multivitamin, fish oil, and acetyl-L-carnitine. Adds up to 6 pills with my biggest meal of the day.

    Also, I appreciate the skeleton photobomb in your first picture… 🙂

  11. I got those same tablets–uhh, way too many.

  12. ahhh i LOVED hearing from you on my blog! thank you for your comment!!! I am DEF gona enjoy my last year, cannot believe its over! ill have to look for those at TJS next time- i love tjs so much!

  13. I take a multivitamin, zinc, magnesium and a bunch of fish oil. I also take Acetyl L-carnitine before working out, and drink Xtend through my workouts. That’s it, plus protein powder obviously 🙂

  14. I used to always take a multivitamin (Viactiv) but I’ve since gotten away from that. I really feel like I can get everything I need from food alone (not that I always do, but feel like I should make an effort to! haha). I’m with you though – I’m a one-a-day gal if any. My mom takes every supplement under the sun, I don’t know how she does it!

  15. Pingback: His and Her Dinners |

Leave a Reply

