Everything in its Place

The morning is my favorite time of day.  I love the quiet and peacefulness that morning provides.  I also love the feeling of a brand new day or a fresh start.

This Saturday morning was no different.  I awoke around 8am feeling refreshed and ready for the day.  I fed Boo and Sophia and then put them outside for one of their daily matches of tug-of-war:

After putting a fresh pot of coffee on, I had the sudden urge to clean and declutter the kitchen.  Strangely, cleaning my kitchen is quite the stress reliever and I always feel so good when my kitchen is spotless.

I started in the fridge, throwing out old food items that had been sitting around for too long or had expired (like old condiments).  Then I cleaned the counter tops and sink and cleared off the counter of odd items that just don’t belong (like batteries and recyclables) and put them in their proper place.

I love having clean counter tops.  I can’t stand having too many things cluttered around.

I get my cleaning habits from my dad.  He always said, “Everything in its place and a place for everything”.  I agree, dad! 🙂

Candle Lit Breakfast

After cleaning the kitchen and getting some laundry started, it was time for breakfast.  Andy was still sleeping, so I decided to surprise him with a candle lit breakfast.

On the menu:

  • Cheesy Eggs (2 eggs with a splash of milk + shredded cheddar cheese)
  • Whole Wheat English Muffin
  • Strawberries

Breakfast was served!

Surprisingly I was not in the mood for eggs this morning.  Maybe it was because I had breakfast for dinner the other night and had my fill of cheesy eggs.  Instead I made a bowl of cereal with fruit, a meal I don’t think I will ever be sick of!

In the mix:

  • Shredded Wheat
  • Flax Plus Multibran Flakes
  • Cascadian Farms Cinnamon Crunch
  • Blueberries
  • Strawberries
  • Organic 2% Milk

Coffee with organic half and half rounded out my breakfast.

So far this Saturday is turning into a great day. Boo definitely thinks so too, as he’s spending the morning playing with his favorite toy (he even sometimes sleeps with it!)

I'll never let you out of my sight

Now Andy and I are heading to Whole Foods to stock up on groceries for the week then I need to tackle some more cleaning. Have a great Saturday everyone!

Question:

What is your favorite time of day?

8 responses to “Everything in its Place

  1. I love morning too, for the exact reasons you listed! I love getting out for a walk before anyone else is up 🙂

  2. I’m slowly working on cleaning up my counter tops right now too…between episodes of Jersey Shore and blogging, haha. Yours are inspiration to go finish – so tidy!

  3. I love right around twilight, when the sun has just set. It feels like the world is finally slowing down after a long day 🙂

  4. I love getting lots of things done early in the morning – it makes you feel like you’ve accomplished so much before most people have even woken up!

  5. Pingback: Pizza and a Movie |

  6. I want to play tugowar with your pups. They are the best. DUDE I deep cleaned my kitchen yesterday. Feels so good!

  7. Pingback: What Would Your Real Life Friends Say? |

  8. I feel that everything has a place to, and feel so much better when they are “there” haha. Unfortuantly I just moved, so nothing has its own place yet haha

Leave a Reply

