Pizza and a Movie

After doing some cleaning around the house Saturday morning, Andy and I headed out to grab some lunch and get some groceries at Whole Foods.

We’ve been shopping at Whole Foods rather than our regular grocery store, Giant Eagle, because we eat more organic foods.  We noticed that Giant Eagle’s organic selection is actually more expensive than at Whole Foods and they don’t even have a great selection.

Although organic is still more expensive than non-organic, I definitely prefer spending the extra money for better quality on the food Andy and I eat.

Lunch

We decided to stop at First Watch for lunch.

First Watch is one of my favorite restaurants.  They seem to really care about the quality of their food, which is a pleasant surprise for a chain restaurant.  I’ve found that some chains really lack in quality.  First Watch has never dissapointed me! Plus they have a pretty awesome menu selection and you can’t go wrong with any of their meals.

For lunch I decided on the open face chicken salad sandwich with the tomato basil soup on the side.  Andy went with a roast beef sandwich that came with a side of potatoes (home fry style) and a small salad.

I loved this meal, especially the chicken salad.  It had just the right amount of sweetness from the fruit and just the right creaminess from the dressing.  A definite winner! The soup was good, but not my favorite.  Andy seemed to enjoy his sandwich since he cleaned  his plate!

Shopping

After our bellies were full it was on to Whole Foods.

It was Saturday afternoon, so Whole Foods was rockin’ with shoppers.  But the good thing about Whole Foods is that they are usually spacious so I don’t feel too confined or uncomfortable shopping.

Plus, I’ve never had to wait in line to check out.  They always seem to have a lot of employees working and they even have someone that loads up your groceries into bags and into your cart. That seems like it should be typical for all grocery stores, but I’ve really seen such a decline in that type of service.

Whole Foods definitely steps up their customer service and I think they’re top notch.

We spent about $95, which is more than usual since we stocked up on some beer and wine for Labor Day weekend coming up.  Typically we spend around $75/week on groceries.

I picked up a new flavor of hummus that I have not had before: Caramelized Onion Hummus.  Wow, it’s super tasty! If you like the flavor of caramelized onions, you should try this.

Saturday Night 

Andy and I decided to stay in for the night and munch on some left over pizza from Pizza Friday.

I had some Greek Pizza which had chicken, feta, tomatoes, spinach, and olives.

Andy had a Hawaiian Pizza with pineapple, ham, onion, and bacon. We had ordered the pizzas from a local place called Revolution Pizza.  It’s become a favorite of ours!

While eating, we decided to watch a movie on Netflix.  Andy had wanted to see a documentary called Dear Zachary that his friend had recommended a couple of months ago.

I love documentaries, so I was all for it, but this one was extremely sad.  Although there were parts that were heartfelt and hopeful, it was still a very tragic story about loss. If you like documentaries, you will like this as it’s very well made, especially with the subject it’s about: death and tragedy.

Hurricane Irene

Thoughts and prayers to those on the East Coast and anyone who is being affected by this storm.

My parent’s home is in Emerald Isle, NC and was in the direct path of the storm.  I have not talked to them to see if they heard anything on their house, but luckily they had left town and headed back to Ohio last week.

I found this picture of Atlantic Beach which is only miles from my parents house and a town I spend a lot of time in when I am in North Carolina on vacation:

Source

The storm has moved out and is moving on up the coast, so be safe everyone!

11 responses to “Pizza and a Movie

  1. I just went and watched the trailer for that movie… I bet it was unbelievably frustrating to watch! It’s one of those movies where I’m curious, but I’m not sure I’d ever want to put myself through watching it.

    Super jealous of the Whole Foods… I can’t wait until they are as common here as they are in the US!

  2. We will be getting a Whole Foods and it should open in November! WHOOOHOOO.

  3. Dang….that pizza looks AMAZING!! I want a whole foods close by so badly!! Hoping your parents house was okay!

  4. Ok that hummus sounds incredible. I’ve not seen that flavor at our WFs.

  5. I wish we had Whole Foods in Australia! It sounds/looks awesome, as does those pizzas 🙂

  6. I hope you parents were okay in the storm. I am personally really annoyed at a lot of East Coast bloggers talking about how Irene wasn’t that big of a deal and eveyone over-reacted. I want to shake them and say BE GRATEFUL! Would you rather have your version of Katrina. Who cares if it was overkill. Better to be safe than sorry. So you were inconvienced for a few days and had to prepare for the storm it could have been so much worse. As you can tell I am angry.

  7. Caramelized onion hummus?!?!? I MUST get my hands on that!!!!

  8. That hummus sounds awesome. I find it helps me to go grocery shopping on a full stomach. Fewer impulse purchases are made that way!

  9. I hope your parents house was ok!!!
    I am so jealous of TJ’s..seriously..I think I’ve told you before..but I really wish we had one near us…or maybe it’s a good thing we don’t..? My wallet might not like that too much 😉

  10. Pingback: Star of the Morning |

Leave a Reply

