Secret Ingredient for Boxed Mac n' Cheese

Yesterday at work we hosted a Farmers Market, showcasing some local businesses in the Cleveland area.


We spent the morning setting up the picnic grounds area as the vendors began to arrive. Everything was going smoothly until a major down poor of rain came through the area…

Luckily most of the vendors had their tents set up and came prepared for the weather!

Eventually the rain went away (thankfully!) and the sun came out just in time for the employees (and their families) to enjoy the market.

We had a variety of vendors come and each showcased their unique products.

Honey, jellies, and more

Bread and other goodies

Olive Oils and Vinegars

Produce

Hummus, pitas, and other goods

There were also vendors selling purses and handmade bags, flowers, maple syrup, salsas and hot sauces, and gyros.  It was a nice variety!

Lunch

On my lunch break I took time to shop and eat! I managed to buy a lot of goodies for Andy and I, as well as a couple of things to use as birthday gifts coming up.

Produce, monkey bread, nut roll, hot sauce, pepper jelly, and BBQ sauce

For lunch I went to the gyro stand and purchased a chicken pita.

It was delicious! I especially loved the yogurt sauce.

I think the Farmers Market was a big success! Everyone seemed to have a great time and enjoyed the vendor selections.

Dinner

I was in the mood for more roasted tomatoes to have with dinner last night.  I decided to use the fresh ones I purchased at the market along with the zucchini.

I sliced up the veggies then seasoned with salt and pepper and drizzled with olive oil. I also chopped up a head of garlic to roast with the tomatoes and zucchini.

The veggies cooked in the oven set at 375 for about 40 minutes.

I wasn’t sure what else I wanted with my veggies until I saw a box of Whole Foods brand Shells and Cheese.  We had a winner!

I cooked the macaroni according to package directions.  Then I added my secret ingredient to make it extra creamy: A Laughing Cow cheese wedge!

Along with the cheese wedge, I added a splash of 2% milk and about a tbsp of real butter.  It really ups the flavor! I think boxed mac n’ cheese is rather bland without the extra additions. Try this combo! It will not disappoint!

Workout

Today’s workout included a hot run with Boo and Sophia. It’s supposed to be in the 90s today and by the the time we hit the pavement it was already 75 and humid.  Luckily there was a slight breeze that made the 2 mile run pretty enjoyable.

That still didn’t stop me from looking like a total sweat monster:

Sophia was hot too, and jumped straight into the bushes when we got back:

Boo just looked stunned,  like he was blinded by the light:

I swear they enjoy running with me 🙂

After cooling down, we all relaxed for a bit before I headed off to work for the day.

Weekend Plans

My mom and dad are coming from Cincinnati to stay with Andy and I for the long weekend. I can’t wait to see them! We have dinner plans tomorrow night and we’re thinking about going to the Zoo as well.  I love family time!

Have a great weekend everyone!

8 responses to “Secret Ingredient for Boxed Mac n' Cheese

  1. Fun Blog! Love the pups 🙂 That mac and cheese looked delicious! I love mac and cheese with little bits of broccoli. yum

  2. Enjoy the family time! I’m excited to see mine in a few weeks!

  3. Enjoy your weekend and family time!! That mac & cheese looked AMAZING.

    Your workplace sounds like such a positive, organic atmosphere! I hope it really is 🙂

  4. Yes! I always add laughing cow to my mac! I actually saw the title and wondered if it was laughing cow, haha. So yummy. Markets are a blast, loved the photos but sorry about the rain!

  5. That mac and cheese looks SO good! And the pic of Sophia in the bushes is so cute!

Leave a comment