Quesadilla with a side of Cookies

For dinner last night I cooked up a quesadilla and filled it with mexican blend cheese,  leftover roasted potatoes and some chopped up morning star buffalo chicken.

On the side I enjoyed some tortilla chips and had some homemade guacamole (which is just avocado, onion, tomato, salt, and pepper blended in my food processor), light sour cream, and hot salsa.

I only ate half of the quesadilla because I had plans to make some homemade chocolate chip cookies and I knew I wanted a few of those before the night was over! I packed up the rest of the quesadilla to have for my lunch today.  I love easy lunches!

After I ate my dinner I got right to baking! I really enjoy baking, especially cookies because they cook so fast and are ready to be devoured by me 🙂

Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • Chocolate chips (I didn’t measure, I just poured enough to my liking!)

Cookie Dough...I sampled a few bites, had to make sure it was tasty 😉

Cookies on a greased baking pan ready for bakin'!

Bake Cookies at 375 for 8-10 minutes

Cookies for Me!

I enjoyed three cookies while watching one of my favorite shows, House Hunters, on HGTV! I have plenty of leftovers to enjoy throughout the week!

Moving!

I am moving two weeks from tomorrow back to OHIO! I am so excited.  My boyfriend Andy and I are finally moving in together (we’ve been dating for almost 4 years). I’m still job hunting, but have a couple of good leads and I am confident I will have something shortly after I move.

Andy and I in college

Andy...what a cute guy, if I do say so myself 😉

Here are a few pictures of our new house (we are renting it):

Fenced yard for the dogs!

Where i'll be making lots of home cooked goodies 🙂

I’m really excited to have someone else to cook for.  I really enjoy living alone and I am glad I experienced it, but I can’t wait to sit down and have a meal with Andy each night.  Ahh, the little things in life 🙂

I’m still searching for a gym to go to, but I think I am going to try and work part time at a local place teaching Group Exercise so that I can get a free membership…one less bill to pay!

Well, I am off to do some cardio now! Have a great day everyone!

Questions:

Have you ever lived completely on your own? Did you like it?

Do you have any simple cookie recipes?

26 responses to “Quesadilla with a side of Cookies

  1. I love quesadillas. I’ve actually never lived completely on my own. Hope you have a great day!

  2. I live by my own now and love the fact that all the household decisions are my own and I never have to “check” with anyone… but it does get difficult when cooking just for myself and such…

    Love that you get to rent a house! And that kitchen makes me seriously jealous… one thing I look forward to when I have a house of my own!

  3. Okay truth: I will make up chocolate chip cookie dough and NEVER make the cookies. We will leave in the refrigerator and just eat it raw! haha!

    As for moving in with Andy…woot woot! That will be so much fun. I did live on my own before moving in with Keith and I liked it. Making my own decisions and doing my own thing was nice. But living with Keith (I guess we kind of have to know that we are married…haha) is a thousand times better!

  4. awe u two in college ❤ hehe cute pic!

    mmmm quesedilla and cookies.. cuz who doesnt like a side of cookie with their quesos ❤

    im going to be living on my own next year. well maybe witha roomie.. but we'll see. i do like my own space and am pretty independant.

  5. Quesadillas have been all Ive been craving lately! I’ve definitely eaten my fair share of them recently!

    The kitchen is so nice and roomy! I can’t wait for you!

  6. Great kitchen for cooking and entertaining and a great yard for your dogs, how exciting!
    I did live alone for a short time and I’m also glad that I got to experience that, but I have to say living with your man is pretty great!!!!!!!

  7. Awwwww congrats on the big move!!!! Also, very cute picture of you two 🙂

    I “lived on my own” all throughout college for nearly three years after. Granted, I had roomies, but didn’t live with bfs. Now I’ve been living with my bf for over a year and it’s AWESOME having him around all the time. Well, we have super hectic and conflicting schedules, so it’s nice to see him before we go to bed. And the cooking/dining part is sweet too.

  8. I lived on my own from 19-21..and it really was the BEST time. I love being married, don’t get me wrong, but it was just a great experience to be on my own and TOTALLY independent!

  9. Your new place looks so cute! Congratulations on the move! I have never lived on my own, but we make joint decisions, so I am good with that. Quesadilla and cookies…perfect combination!

  10. Quesadillas and cookies? Best post ever. hehe.

    I guess it depends on the definition as to whether I’ve lived on my own. Never just myself (I think that might be lonely) but I’ve lived “on my own” with a roommate before.

  11. Cookies are a perfect side dish! 😉 I’ve lived alone before and I actually liked it. Well Molly was there so there so I never got lonely or anything. I loved putting my things where ever I wanted and the only time they got moved was by me. I also loved the quiet. I’m not saying that I don’t love living with P..that I do too!

  12. I’ll take one of those quesadillas and about 127 of those cookies please 🙂

    Love the new place!

  13. How did you find the house you are renting in Ohio? My fiance has moved to Pittsburgh and we are in the process of looking for a house to rent…an apartment is just to small. O and those cookies look delicious!

  14. Ahh, you must not have heard of cake cookies! They are delish 🙂 Here’s my fave recipe:
    1 box lemon cake mix
    1/3 cup vegetable oil
    2 eggs
    1 tsp lemon extract

    Mix it all together. Roll small tbsp size ball in powdered sugar and drop on cookie sheet. Bake at 350 for about 9 minutes. BIG HIT!

  15. Ya gotta sample the dough before it goes into the oven…wouldn’t want acky cookies now! 😉

    I’ve never lived alone, but I figure I have plenty of time for that in the next few years. I went from my mum’s house to university dorms to a one-roommate townhouse, although she works the night shift, so I generally come home to an empty house, so I halfway live alone!

  16. Such a cute picture of the two of you – you look so VERY happy 🙂
    The house is really cute too- lovin’ the big backyard- I’m sure the dogs will too.

  17. Your house looks so cute!!! 🙂
    I just baked up a batch of cookies today on the blog…very similar to yours but with a twist! 😉

  18. Aww you guys are cute together! I am so excited for you! Living with a man can be trying at times for sure, but overall the good things much outweigh the bad. You two will be v happy in your lovely house with your doggies!

    Your din looks yummy! I have never even made a quesadilla but I think I will make one next week!

    Also your cookies look yum!I think its great you can bake up a batch of proper cookies and enjoy them. You have such a healthy food attitude, tis awesome!

    Oatmeal raisin are my favorite cookie 🙂 but when it comes to cake.. The chocolate-ier the better!

  19. Exciting time for you in the very near future!! That’s great! Your house is adorable!! Speaking of cute, you guys look really cute together. 🙂

    I’m living alone right now. I come from a large family, so sometimes it feels like something is really missing. I like having my space, but can’t wait to find the right person to share my space with.

  20. Oh my God – I want your cookies – and your house!! A REAL kitchen – I dream…

  21. Pingback: Possible Reasons Why Women Can’t Lose Weight « Cardio Pizza

  22. Pingback: What I ate Yesterday…. « Cardio Pizza

Leave a comment